top of page

March 11, 2020: When It's Hard to Pray

My daily devotional thought with some encouragement for your day.



Romans 8:26-28 says, "In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God's people in accordance with the will of God. And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose."


Have you ever been praying and ran out of things to say? Not because you had been praying for hours and hours but because you literally just had no idea what to say? That's happened to me before too, don't worry. You aren't less of a Christian because you can't figure out what to say. You aren't less loved because of this.


We have communication with God even without a word being spoken. God knows our hearts and minds. He knows the desires of our hearts without us ever having to say a single word. Sometimes we don't know what to say, but that's okay because God still hears you.


“His heart of infinite love responds to the needs and emotions of your own inarticulate heart" - VCG

Something a lot of people get strung up on with prayer is the posture in which we pray. Some people get on their knees and raise their hands. Some people kneel by their bedside. Some people sit criss-cross-applesauce in their beds with their heads bowed and eyes closed (like me). The thing is... God doesn't care about the posture of your body as much as He cares about the posture of your heart. If your heart is reverent and kneeled to the Lord, then so is your body posture. If you can't kneel or bend down, that's okay.


When your heart is right with God, and in a kneeling posture before the Lord, God knows that. He knows your desires. He knows your attitudes. He knows the purpose behind your prayers.


God cares most about the posture of your heart.


It's okay to not know what to say sometimes. We serve a good God who listens even when we don't speak. He never fails us, and He always has a listening ear for our deepest desires and our precious prayers. Never feel like your prayers aren't worthy of God's ear, because every prayer is. Never think your prayer is dumb or like there are people with bigger problems than what you're praying about because God cares about every prayer and every person.


My prayer today:

Lord, sometimes I may not have the words to say, but thank you for hearing me anyways. Thank you for never letting me go. Thank you for knowing and hearing the desires of my heart. Sometimes in the midst of struggle or hardship, I don't always know what to say. But thank you for your constant peace and love in my life. Thank you for your infinite love in my life. You are so good to me, even when I don't deserve it which is most of the time. You always have a listening ear for what I have to say. From here on out, I am choosing to believe in what I pray for. Amen.

Comentarios


bottom of page