top of page

Does anyone actually like change?

Do you hate change as much as I do? Then keep reading.



Change sucks. There really is no good way to go about change sometimes. I don't really know anyone that loves big change. There are many forms of change. I love changing the living room around or changing the way I organize my closet, but I hate moving or going through a job change. I think the bigger changes give us more anxiety because it's more stressful. Nobody likes packing up their apartment/home into what feels like millions of cardboard boxes to move.... at least not anyone that I know.


Big change can be hard. Small change can be hard too, though. Take a minute and think about all the things that have changed in your life recently. They may even look similar to my list:

  • Loss of job (Furloughed, laid off, fired, etc.) because of COVID-19

  • Spouse working from home

  • Being together 24/7 as a family with very little time alone

  • Wearing a mask every time you go out

  • Working out more

  • Doing more devotions/Bible reading

  • Putting on mini broadway musicals in your living room for your spouse (he loves it)

  • Missing friends/family members

  • Realizing that you're more of a hugger than you thought

  • Cooking/baking more

  • Finding a new hobby (making earrings for example!)


There are so many other things I could probably put on this list, but the point of this blog isn't for me to tell you all the things that are changing in my life. Austin and I have some pretty big changes coming up for our life. Big changes that will be stressful and not always fun, but I am also so excited about them. As I've gotten older, I've learned to embrace change with a full grasp and deal with it head on, but that doesn't mean it's not scary or stressful.


In the midst of change, it's important to remember our blessings, too.


Let's talk about COVID-19 for a hot second. This is a VERY big change that has affected the entire world in some way. All of us have been affected by this virus. It's been a scary, frustrating and stressful time. We've all been quarantined, important milestones in our lives have been cancelled, postponed or changed in someway. Weddings are being cancelled. Graduations are being cancelled. Husbands can't go into the ultrasound with their pregnant wives. Classes are all online. People are working from home. We can't go out in public without wearing face masks or getting horrible looks if we don't wear one. We can't hug our grandparents right now because we're scared to get them sick. Walt Disney World is closed for goodness sakes.


Those are a lot of big changes I just listed. Maybe you have seasonal depression and it's gotten much worse since being quarantined because you rely on going to work to help boost your happiness. Maybe you are a recovering alcoholic and were six years sober and are really struggling with deciding if six years is really worth it anymore. Maybe you live paycheck to paycheck and have no idea how you're going to be able to pay your bills right now since you got laid off and haven't heard anything about your unemployment claim.


It's hard. Change. It sucks. But think about your blessings right now. I challenge you to grab a piece of paper and write down all your changes and then right next to that in a new column, write all your blessings. Write down all the things that God has provided for you. Write down all the things that God says about you and who He says you are. It's amazing how your attitude will change after that.


I can't help you deal with your change. I can't take away the change you're going through. I can't bear the burden of your bills or bear the burden of your addictions. I wish I could, friends. I wish I could help more. All I can do is encourage you and say this:


You are not alone. You are valuable. You are loved. You have someone by your side. You were created in the image of God. You are a child of the King. The alpha. The omega. The all-knowing and all-powerful.


Think about the change that Jesus went through. God sent him down to earth. He lived as human and God at the same time. He spent His entire life washing feet, serving others and being a light to how amazing His great Father is. He was crucified and mocked and died on a cross for us. He went through so much change while He lived on earth. Let's take a look at some of God's words about change.


  • Jeremiah 29:11, "'For I know the plans I have for you', declares the Lord, 'plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future".

  • Joshua 1:9, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go".

  • Deuteronomy 31:8 “The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged".

  • Proverbs 3: 5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight".

  • Malachai 3:6 “I the Lord do not change. So you, the descendants of Jacob, are not destroyed".

  • Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever".

  • Philippians 4:6-8 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things".


I encourage you to write some of those down and place them all over your house. God doesn't change. He is ever-present. Of all the things in my life that have changed, the one thing that has never changed is God's great love for me. He has never abandoned me. He has never forsaken me. He is always with me. His peace is always present in my life. When scary change comes, rely on Jesus. When stress comes, rely on Jesus. God knows every single ounce of change that is going to happen in your life. Nothing is a surprise to God.


How do you deal with change? What are some of your coping mechanisms? Do you pray about it as much as you talk about it? Ask God to help you deal with change. It will change your life.


 

Praying for you always, friends! Please feel free to contact me if you want to talk more or just need a friend right now! If you subscribe to my blog, I will send you a little encouragement in the mail! Love you big, friends!

-DKG

Comments


bottom of page