top of page

March 20, 2020: God, My Glory

My daily devotional with an encouraging thought for your day.



Psalm 3 reads, "Lord, how many are my foes! How many rise up against me! Many are saying of me, God will not deliver him. But you, Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high. I call out to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy mountain. I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the Lord sustains me. I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side. Arise, Lord! Deliver me, my God! Strike all my enemies on the jaw; break the teeth of the wicked. From the Lord comes deliverance. May your blessing be on your people".


I want to focus on a few verses in this blog post:

  • v. 3-4; "But you, my Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, the one who lifts my head high. I call out to the Lord, and he answers me from his holy mountain".

  • v. 5; "...because the Lord sustains me".


Is God your glory? The word glory is defined as weight or significance. There is a lot riding on where we define our glory. Sometimes, we find our glory in sports. Sometimes, in theater. Sometimes, in art. Sometimes, in grades or academics. There are many things that can distract us from our ultimate and true glory. I think that often times, the word glory gets replaced by other words and quotes. For example, I know some people who are so smart. They are always straight-A students. And when asked why, they say, "It's just what we do. It's who I am". Being married to a football coach, I've heard this about sports many times, especially in young men. A lot of young men put their fame and lives into sports. They define themselves as the "star quarterback" or the "star basketball player".

“No one is more secure than the one who is held in God's hands" - Our Daily Bread

Our glory needs to be found in God and God alone. He is our ultimate weight and significance. He is our shield. He sustains us in our time of need.


Let God Be Your Glory. Ask Him to protect your heart with His overshadowing love and care.


I want to share my personal prayer with you all today:

Abba, I cry out to you. Thank you for your steadfast love and mercy. Be my glory, God. May everything I do be a light of who you are and your great love. I surrender my life to your plan. Mold me into a woman after your own heart. May I walk in your steps and not my own. Amen.

Comments


bottom of page