top of page

8 Biblical Truths When You're Lonely

Are you feeling lonely during quarantine? Check out this blog post.



I'm sure you've felt it. The loneliness. The fear. The sorrow. We have all felt it at some point. We miss people. We miss face-to-face interactions. We miss going out. We miss work. I'm not a hugger, and I miss hugs. This quarantine has really caused us all to slow down and focus on the simpler things of life. It may have taken away your schedule or forced you to sit home every single day unsure of what to do with life.


It's an easy time to feel lonely. A really easy time to feel lonely. Maybe you're single and don't live with anyone else. Maybe you live with friends, but are missing your family dearly. Maybe you live with your spouse but still feel lonely. I've felt lonely during this time too. I miss my family. I miss my friends. I miss work. But I've really been trying to focus on the truths of the Lord. I've been trying to focus on His promises through the word. I've needed the reminders of who I am and His perfect plan. Maybe you need these reminders too. Keep reading, friends.


1. Deuteronomy 31:6, "Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you". God did not give us a spirit of fear. Fear does not come from God. Don't be fooled by fear. God is with you. He isn't gone just because of the coronavirus. He is still here. He is still present. And He is still good.


2. Psalm 25:16, "Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted". Turn your fear and worries to the Lord. The Lord is with us, always. He's with us when we're sad and He's with us with when we're happy. Turn to the Lord. He is with you.


3. Isaiah 41:10, "So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand". I'm sure you've heard it before, but there are 365 reminders in the Bible to not be afraid. God reminds us 365 time not to fear. That's one reminder for every single day. God strengthens us and doesn't give us a spirit of fear.


4. 1 Peter 5:7, "Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you". There are so many things in life that we can find anxiety over. We can be anxious about jobs or money or relationships or anything. In the middle of the coronavirus, we can find anxiety over going to the grocery store or leaving our homes. I highly recommend saying a small prayer when you feel anxious. Entering the grocery store? Pray, "Lord, give me peace and keep me safe". His spirit of peace will be overwhelming in that moment. He cares for us, deeply. He gave everything for us so that we may live as free children of God.


5. 1 Corinthians 10:13, "No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it". Sometimes, in the midst of loneliness, we can find temptation. In the midst of a crisis, how are you coping? Maybe you're a recovering alcoholic who is struggling with not buying alcohol or drinking. Maybe you quit smoking years ago and are smoking two packs a day again. Look to the Lord in the midst of temptation. He doesn't give us more than we can handle. The Lord always provides a way out for us. You aren't alone in your struggles.


6. Colossians 3:1-4, "If you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory". During a crisis, set your mind on things above. Focus on the Lord rather than the things of this earth. Be a light to others, so that they may know the love and power of Christ. We are one with Christ. We are children of the Lord. Don't seek things of this earth, but focus on the Lord.


7. James 4:8, "Draw near to God and He will draw near to you". When you draw near to God, He comes closer to you. Focus on the Lord. Focus on His goodness. Draw near to Him during this time. Read His word. Pray. Worship. Make your life an image of who God is.


8. Philippians 4:19, "And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus". God will give us all our needs. Now you may be thinking about things you've asked God for that He hasn't given you, but is it something you actually need? Think about your needs vs. wants. A roof over your head, food to eat, water to drink, a shower. If you have those things, my friends, you are highly blessed.


Loneliness has a way of creeping into our minds and hearts. It has a way to bring negative thoughts into our life. But the Bible reminds us of who we are in Christ. We are children of God, and can experience fullness of joy through Him.


My challenge to all of you is to take this time of quarantine to focus on the fullness we can experience through Christ. Everyone handles stress and loneliness differently. Some people maintain a schedule and focus on keeping themselves busy, and some people become less productive and lay in bed all day watching Netflix. Personally, I'm somewhere in the middle of that, but what I do know is this: I am a daughter of God, and no amount of loneliness and negativity that may enter my life will distract me from my God. My God is powerful and mighty. He is the overcomer of everything and is the ultimate victory. Don't let loneliness win. You are not alone. You are loved, and you are heard.


If you or someone you know is struggling with loneliness or depression, please reach out for help. There are people who love and care about you. You're never alone in your struggles. I am here for you. I hear you.

- DG

Comments


bottom of page